Who We Are

 Opening Navigation buttons

First and foremost we are Catholic! We are not under the rule of Rome. The Polish National Catholic Church welcomes people of all ethnic, racial and social backgrounds. We are a catholic church, and our beliefs are based on Holy Scripture, Christian Tradition, and Church Ecumenical Synods.


Do you have to be Polish to join the Polish National Catholic Church (PNCC)?

Just as you do not have to be Roman to join the Roman Catholic Church (RCC) You do not need to be Polish or of Polish ancestry to belong to the PNCC. The PNCC was organized by Polish immigrants in 1897, but has diversified in the same manner as the rest of America.

What is the form of worship in the PNCC?
The Holy Sacrifice of the Mass is the central act of worship in all churches of the Catholic Community, including the Polish National Catholic Church. There are three (3) different Rites of the Holy Mass in our prayer book. These are Traditional, Contemporary, and Traditional Mass compiled by Prime Bishop Francis Hodur. Also, various prayer services, litanies, Penance services, and other paraliturgical services are celebrated throughout the year.

What language is the Mass celebrated in?

The language of the people, which in the case of Resurrection is English. The PNCC was a pioneer in this regard, celebrating Holy Mass in the vernacular over 100 years ago. The language of the people may be English, Spanish, Polish, Lithuanian, Slovak, or whateveris necessary to meet the needs of the parish.

Is Holy Communion administered?
Holy Communion is given under two forms, Bread and Wine, which are the Body and Blood of Jesus Christ. The principal method used is Intinction, which simply means that the Sacred Host is dipped into the Consecrated Wine and administered to the faithful at the altar. Only Priests and Deacons administer the Eucharist and it is always placed on the tongue, not in the hand.

Does the PNCC recognize the sacraments?
The PNCC recognizes seven sacraments. The sacraments provide us God's grace through items that are real and tangible. Washing with water; Strengthening through the anointing with oil and laying on of hands; Bread and wine - real food and drink are the physical things God uses to convey His grace. The Sacraments are

1. Baptism and Confirmation
2. The Word of God
3. Penance
4. Eucharist
5. Holy Unction (Anointing for Health)
6. Holy Orders
7. Matrimony
Our Priests, and the Sacraments they administer, are recognized by the Vatican as valid.

What does the church teach concerning confession?
A humble confession of our faults to Almighty God, followed by the assignment of penance and absolution given by the priest, is the way the congregation obtains forgiveness of its sins. The sacrament may be administered in one of two ways: public or private. Private confession is required for all members under the age of sixteen. Public confession is a part of every Mass. In this form, the faithful confess their sins directly and privately to God. The entire congregation then recites the Prayer of Confession together

What is the teaching concerning birth control?
The utilization of birth control is a matter of personal judgment for husband and wife. It is not the responsibility of the church to tell its communicants how many children they must or must not have. Marriage serves other major purposes besides the procreation of children.

Is abortion permitted?
No. Abortion is morally wrong, for it is the ending of a life that has already begun. The church does not sanction it.

Can a divorced person participate fully in parish life?
Yes. There are no discriminatory regulations against those who have suffered from a divorce; divorced people may participate in Mass and receive Holy Communion. The Church has an obligation to lend its support and ministry to those who have divorced, as it would to casualties of other social ills.

Can a divorced person re-marry?
Yes. Each Diocese has a matrimonial Commission that studies each request for marriage by persons who have been divorced. This commission presents its finding to the Diocesan Bishop with its recommendation. The Bishop makes the final decision.

Why do we permit priests to marry?
Because it is the perfectly natural thing for a man to do. The church sees no moral reason in the world to forbid a man to receive the Holy Sacrament of Matrimony simply because he happens to be a priest. Tradition tells us that all but one of the twelve apostles were married. Popes, bishops and priests of the early church were all married men. Many believe that a married priest is more likely to understand the problems of marriage and child rearing because he has gone through them.

How is the Polish National Catholic Church governed?
It is governed in accordance with its Constitution. In matters of faith, morals and discipline, bishops and priests possess the authority to explain and teach the doctrinal position of Christ's Church. The legislative authority of the Church is vested in the General Synod, the Special Synod, the Diocesan Synod and the Parish Meeting. In financial and administrative matters, the Parishioners possess administrative authority. Representatives elected at the Annual Parish Meeting, and confirmed by the Diocesan Bishop, exercise their constitutional authority